Pumping water


Pumping water

I get some fresh water runoff which I store in a concrete basin that is about 3 yards x 3 yards x 3 yards. It fills up to be about 2 x 2 x 2. I have an electric pump set up that I can activate from the inside. It takes about 30 minutes for the 2 x 2 x 2 area of water to fill up. The electric pump will empty my 2 x 2 x 2 area in about four minutes and shoot the water horizontally about 25 yards in 10 yards up to get into my bathroom so that I can fill up a giant bucket which I use for a shower.

I’m sorry that I don’t have more information about the power of the pump but I also need to get water to an area that is about 40 yards high and about 10 yards (into a water barrel) horizontal from the water basin.

Based on family water usage, about 90% of the water should go to the top of the roof (water barrel) and about 10% of the water should go to the bathroom (captured by large bin).

What do I need to consider about my piping so that 10% of the water is ending up in the bathroom directly at 90% of the water is ending up up top

Sorry, I lack a technical vocabulary for this and I realize I might be leaving out important details. Your best estimate would be very appreciated.

Leave a comment